Goodbye 2013….. I won’t be missing you….

Well here we are in 2014 and I must admit I won’t  be sad to see the back of 2013 which was not a good one for my family, starting with losing my Mom and ended with my Dad’s bungalow being devastated by the floods just before Christmas. So we start 2014 with a full house, both lads getting ready to go back to their respective Uni courses, and Dad having taken up residence in what was our study.
2013 did have one or two high points, Dan turned 18 and Matt 21,  and my nephew became a Dad when we welcomed the beautiful Ellyse Grace into the family. So here is my review of the year, warts and all!!

January – A post Christmas visit to my brother in Mumbles, South Wales but followed by a sad start to the year when we lost Mom unexpectedly.

Mumbles, Langland Beach

Mumbles, Langland Beach

RIP Mom

RIP Mom

 

 

 

 

 

 

February – The Kidderminster Valentines celebrated their 25th Anniversary with a fabulous concert at Kidderminster Town Hall with our special guests The Caernarfon Male Voice Choir.

25th Anniversary

25th Anniversary

 

 

 

 

 

March – My little’un turned 18.

Dan's Jedi Birthday Cake

Dan’s Jedi Birthday Cake

Dan with Presents

Happy Birthday Daniel

 

 

 

April – Woolleybear Crafts became a reality and not just a dream and I started knitting and crocheting bags and other items.

A WoolleyBear Crafts bag

A WoolleyBear Crafts bag

Christmas ornaments

May – Wildlife photography became my newest hobby when I purchased a new camera, and I was amazed at the number of butterflies around this year.

Butterflies galore this year!

Butterflies galore this year!

Peacock Butterfly

Peacock Butterfly

June – Kidderminster Valentines went on our 25th anniversary tour to Bournemouth.

Bournemouth Concert

Bournemouth Concert

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

July – Bewdley Concert Band began its Summer season of concerts in local parks, and Steve and I went on holiday to Poland and had a very moving visit to Auschwitz Birkenau.

BCB at Droitwich Lido Park

BCB at Droitwich Lido Park

Auschwitz I

Auschwitz I

August – At the end of August I started to work at Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle, and we had great family days out at The West Midlands Safari Park, Severn Valley Railway and Bridgnorth.

County Museum

County Museum

Meerkat at Safari Park

Meerkat at Safari Park

Bridgnorth Station

Bridgnorth Station

September – Dan started at Nottingham Trent University, training to become a chemistry teacher, and Matt began his last year in Cheltenham studying marketing at the University of Gloucestershire.

Dan in Nottingham

Dan in Nottingham

Matt in Cheltenham

Matt in Cheltenham

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bewdley Concert Band had a successful annual concert, themed A Musical Night at the Movies.

BCB A night at the Movies

BCB A night at the Movies

 

 

 

 

 

 

October – Saw a Halloween return visit to The West Midlands Safari Park.

Halloween at WMSP

Halloween at WMSP

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

November – Matt turned 21 and we welcomed Ellyse Grace to the family.

Matts 21st Birthday

Matts 21st Birthday

hip flask

hip flask

Ellyse Grace

Ellyse Grace

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

December – Rhyl suffered flooding when the sea defences were breached and Dad’s bungalow was flooded.

Flooded bungalow

Flooded bungalow

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bewdley Concert Band were joined by Central News presenters Lucy Kite and Steve Clamp for their Christmas concert at Bewdley St Anne’s Church and The Kidderminster Valentines released their long awaited second CD, The Music in My Life.

The Music in My Life CD

The Music in My Life CD

BCB Xmas Concert

BCB Xmas Concert

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Postcard from Kidderminster, All posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye 2013….. I won’t be missing you….

  1. Pingback: Welcome to 2014 and Year 3 | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

