My year in pictures

2012 has been a busy year and as it drew to a close I took some time out to reflect on the highlights of the year and choose some pictures that captured those moments. I hope you like them!

January – I have had a keen interest in family history for a number of years, but at the start of the year one of our biggest enigmas was solved when we discovered we had a large family in Ohio, USA where my great great grandad moved to and remained in the late 1800’s. We are now in regular contact with our new family, a wonderful surprise!

William - Ohio

My Great Great Grandfather William 1858 – 1954 in Ohio USA

April  – Our Silver wedding anniversary was spent aboard the P & O cruise ship Azura for 2 weeks sailing around the Western Med.

Our Silver Wedding Anniversary aboard Azura

Our Silver Wedding Anniversary aboard Azura

July – My choir started recording its second CD, post production work is nearly complete and the final results make me very proud to be part of such a fabulous choir. We have had many fabulous concerts this year, including one with the young Ugandan Pearl of Africa choir.

Singing with the Pearl of Africa Children's Choir

Singing with the Pearl of Africa Children’s Choir

August – The Olympics, whilst we didnt get to see any of the events live, we were glued to our TV screen! On a family day out to Stourport Basin, and one of the few glorious sunny days we had, the menfolk of the family paid homage to the sensational Usain Bolt!

A salute to Usain Bolt!

A salute to Usain Bolt!

August – As we had our main holiday in April we treated ourselves to a weekend away in Wells, Somerset and to our delight the city was filled with Swans to celebrate the Queens jubilee.

Shelley - one of the Wells swans

Shelley – one of the Wells swans

October – After over 20 years I picked up a clarinet again and joined a local Concert Band with my youngest son. New friends and new challenges!

Bewdley Concert Band - Xmas concert

Bewdley Concert Band – Xmas concert

November – Unbelievable flooding around the country and Worcestershire was no exception. Our local nature reserve was completely covered when the River Stour broke its banks.

November floods - the River Stour

November floods – the River Stour

Whilst 2012 was a milestone year, with the celebration of our Silver wedding anniversary, 2013 will be even bigger seeing my sons reach the age of 18 & 21 and my parents celebrate their Golden wedding. I look forward to sharing these events with you!

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Postcard from Kidderminster, All posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My year in pictures

  1. Pingback: My year in pictures | weeklyblogclub

  2. Pingback: And thus Year of Weekly Blog Club begins… | weeklyblogclub

  3. Pingback: And thus Year 2 of Weekly Blog Club begins… | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

