Something old, something new…..

I love learning new music, especially if it is a piece of music I have already heard and enjoy listening to. As well as all the familiar Christmas music that we have used in the past, at the moment my choir is learning a new ABBA medley which I am really enjoying because I have always been a big fan of ABBA, and at this weeks band practice we were given some new Christmas music that included the fabulous Carol of the Bells. Composed by Mykola Leontovych with lyrics created Peter J. Wilhousky,  the song is based on a folk chant known in Ukrainian as “Shchedryk”. It has been used many times in films and tv adverts and recorded by many artists, but I particularly like this version by vocal group Libera. I hope you enjoy this video. I am certainly enjoying learning to play it for our Christmas concert.

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in All posts, With a Voice of Singing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something old, something new…..

  1. Pingback: Something old, something new….. | weeklyblogclub

  2. Pingback: Remembering, renewal & revitalising | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

