My Musical Journey..

Bewdley Concert Band

Bewdley Concert Band

Whilst reading our local newspaper last week I came across an article about a local concert band. Bewdley Concert Band were formed in October 2010, and are about to celebrate their 2nd anniversary. What intrigued me about this article was the mention of their Academy. Bewdley Concert Band’s Saturday Morning Music Academy takes place on Saturdays at 9-50 and offers free tutoring and mentoring in Brass, Clarinet, Flute and Percussion. Sessions are open to children and adults.  Why this struck a chord with me is that I learnt to play the Bb clarinet when I was at school, but gave it up after finishing university, a decision I have regretted since my son started playing the flute a few years ago. I have frequently said I would like to take it back up again, but the opportunity never arose as I was so out of practice. The idea of the Academy being there to give you support and mentoring is such a brilliant concept that it spurred me into action. So after a brief exchange of emails with the Bands Secretary Val, last Saturday (accompanied by my son and his flute for moral support) we turned up at Bewdley Primary school and for the first time in over 25 years I picked up a clarinet .. and I am pleased to say, I remembered how to get at least a handful of notes out of it!

The band members were extremely welcoming, let me play with the Academy ensemble and then asked me to stay for the main practice, and just play what I could. I can honestly say it was the most wonderful feeling to be playing music again! Ok, so I couldn’t remember all the notes, but as the morning progressed my confidence grew (and my memory of the fingering for the notes came back!)

Bewdley Concert Band now have two new members, I have ordered myself a new instrument and I am looking forward to our next session to continue my musical journey!

Bewdley Concert Band is available for concerts and musical events. They have over 40 members of all ages and provide a varied and entertaining programme of music.

The band is a true community asset welcoming all members of the community to come together to play music and have fun. They accept new players of any age and standard and meet on a Saturday morning during term time at Bewdley Primary School. Academy starts at 9-50, followed by the main practice 10-30 – 12-30. For more information take a look at their website, http://www.bewdleyconcertband.co.uk/ contact the  band Secretary – Valerie Blount on  078137 69904 or Email   bewdleyconcertband@gmail.com

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in With a Voice of Singing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Musical Journey..

  1. Pingback: My musical journey… | weeklyblogclub

  2. Pingback: Reflecting, reading, journeying | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

