Space… The final frontier…

Carols_telescope_4

Ok, I admit it, I’m a bit of a Trekky, I’ve always had a fascination with space, the stars and UFOs, despite my brother trying to convince me the moon landings were a hoax!

I have my own telescope, unfortunately easily mistaken for a small missile launcher, should I ever have the misfortune to be stopped & searched by officialdom! And I have perhaps an unnatural obsession for watching meteorite showers in the early hours of the morning!
But it is watching the International Space Station (ISS) passing over that I find truly fascinating. Unfortunately my family don’t get quite as excited by this feat of human achievement – their usual reply to my shout of “ISS due in 5 minutes” being “yes Mom, great, are you making a cup of tea?” before turning back to whatever shoot ’em up and kill them game they are playing at the time!
But I thought I had found a kindred spirit in my Dad who, after explaining to him that the bright light in the sky was actually the Planet Jupiter and not the ISS because that moves fairly quickly across the sky, promised to watch out for it during it’s next pass. I duly got a phone call the following evening from a much excited Dad, “Carol, it’s me, Dad, I’ve just seen it! the playstation has just flown over!!” oh well, you can’t win them all!

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Postcard from Kidderminster, Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

