Once a techno geek …..

 

I am definately the techno geek in my family. Over Christmas the number of electronic devices in our household increased by one more, my new tablet device.
I had been mulling over buying a tablet for quite a while, several friends recommended the Ipad, but already having several Apple devices in the house, I was already frustrated by the limitations of having a mobile device you could only sync with one computer, and I wanted to be free of I-tunes. After doing a fair bit of research I decided to go with an android device. With a range of apps I was already familiar with from my HTC android phone and the ability to drag and drop files from any computer, the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 was my final choice, the fact it also had Polaris office preinstalled meant it was also a great choice to use for work purposes as well.

I have now had my tablet for 3 weeks and I have not been disappointed. It does everything I wanted and much more. Being a keen amateur astronomer my favourite app is google skymaps which allows me to point my device at any point in the sky and find out the names of the stars or planets I am looking at. I found this app useful on my phone but it is even better on my HD tablet! I have also found it a great e-book reader, both for e-pub and pdf files and for Kindle books. Having a backlight makes reading alot easier, and the larger text has meant I no longer strain my eyes to read miniscule print! Although it has the capability to play music and take photos, I still prefer to use my much smaller mp3 player and HD video camera for photos, but it is useful to know the functions are there if I need them. I still have a lot to learn about using my tablet, but at the moment I feel like a child with a new toy and I intend to go on playing!!

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Postcard from Kidderminster, Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

