Low fat and Fat Free

I have never been much of a cook, I can do the basics, but fiddling around with recipes is just not my cup of tea! hence my husband does most of the cooking in our house. But my youngest son is the King of Puddings – his sponges are light and moist not like pieces of rubber which is what my attempts turn out like! and he can turn his hand at baking almost anything in the pudding field! so you can imagine the reaction in the Woolley household at Christmas when I revealed my Secret Santa gift from work – a cookbook!  But this was no ordinary cookbook – it was 400 best ever recipes, low fat and fat free. Someone at work had obviously been paying attention to my recent dieting efforts, and on closer inspection this looked like the perfect cookbook to help us maintain a healthier lifestyle.

So I set the family a challenge, Friday would become Cookbook Friday and we would take turns in choosing a recipe for the following week. As for the puddings section, that was left for after Sunday lunch – made by the King of Puddings himself of course!

So what have we tried so far? top of the fav list was Tagliatelle Milanese, that got 10/10 from everyone; Curied lamb and lentals went down well, as did Chicken in cashew nut sauce. Less of a hit were turkey pastitsio (tasted like rice pudding with pasta) and Cider baked rabbit – which became pork as we couldnt get rabbit! but the real let down was the Special fish pie which would probably be much better without the smoked haddock in it, as it was far too overwhelming!

Puddings? Lemon chiffon cake, (gelatine didn’t set very well so a bit runny) chocolate and banana brownies,(too many bananas!) Tia Maria gateau (replaced low fat cheese with buttercream, but a bt sickly as a result) and todays offering is Irish Whiskey cake (using Scotch whiskey as that is all we had!)

All in all I must admit the “experiment” is going well – not quite in the same league as Julie and Julia – if you havent seen the film you must its brilliant! – but the Woolley household are certainly trying things they wouldn’t normally eat!

So what are we having this Friday? Sausage beanpot with dumplings has been chosen by my eldest son this week, and for the first time, I am going to be the one attempting to follow the recipe and cook it – yes, so far despite it being my idea, it has been my wonderful husband who has recreating the recipes, so this week it is my turn to take over the kitchen…… so fingers crossed I am here to report back in next weeks blog!

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Postcard from Kidderminster, Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

