A Postcard From Kidderminster

Kidderminster is not really a place anyone goes on holiday to, but we do have some lovely places nearby that attract visitors from all over the world. Worcester, Malvern, the lovely Vale of Evesham and Broadway on the edge of the Cotswolds. Why is it that you just never seem to have the time to take advantage of things on your doorstep? but seek holiday destinations elsewhere?

We have been holidaying in Wales since 1999, when we bought our first static caravan, first in South Wales , and more recently in North Wales. But we sold our van last October, so this year will be the first since the children were small that we have had to think about where to go for the annual family holiday. The world… the saying goes, is your oyster… but where to go?

We have had some wonderful holidays in Italy in the past, having family in the North of the country meant that we have been to Milan and Venice a number of times. One visit to Venice in particular was memorable for spending the afternoon in a bar with comedian Frank Skinner, whilst waiting for a train. My brother was with us on that occasion and wearing his West Brom footy shirt, which is also the team Frank supports. He happened to be walking past and saw the shirt and stopped for a chat. Pre-children my husband and I also had short breaks in Rome, Paris and Amsterdam. We would opt for culture and perhaps central Italy, but our teenage boys want the sun, sand, sea and nightlife! so I think a compromise two centre break might be on the cards!

I don’t know what it is about foreign countries and me, but “things” always seem to happen…. Take our first visit to Yugoslavia, pre civil war, we got evacuated out of the hotel during the night because of a forest fire engulfing the woods around the hotel! or the overnight sleeper to Rome where  a creepy old guy from Capri got a bit too friendly and I dont think he was discussing the weather!! Even the family trip to Disney World Florida saw me sitting in a carriage on Space Mountain petrified as I don’t like rollercoaters, only to be told it had broken down and we would have a slight delay while they fixed it! …. The only reason I managed to resist the tempatation of making a rapid exit was that I couldn’t undo the straps holding me in!!  and don’t even get me started on turbulance during flights… I don’t travel well!  just give me one of those badges they have in Star Trek so I can be there in a flash……… beam me up Scottie!

Venice, the family with Frank Skinner

Venice, the family with Frank Skinner

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Postcard from Kidderminster, Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

