I’d do anything….

Last weekend we went to see the musical Oliver at the Birmingham Hippodrome. As a family we are big fans of musical theatre, and we are very lucky to have top class theatres on our doorstep that host the big shows. Oliver didn’t disappoint, it was a top class production, colourful and with a talented young cast.

The last time I saw the musical I was still at school and I was part of the orchestra for our school production. My brother had an acting role as one of Fagin’s gang and spent several weeks walking around the house singing “You’ve got to pick a pocket or two” and “I’d do anything” dressed in an old dressing gown! It was the first of several musical productions I took part in at school, including “1066 and all that” and “My Fair Lady” for the first we were covered in gravy browning to look like Roman soldiers and the second I had my hair sprayed grey for a whole week as Mrs Higgins, the Professors mother,  and learnt to waltz for the ballroom scene with my History teacher!

But the musical that I would really like to be part of has to be Les Miserables, or “The Glums” as it is known in the theatrical world. I have been to see this show on numerous occasions both in London and when it has toured locally. But the closest I think I will get is singing some of the wonderful songs that are in my choirs repertoire. As part of our last concert at Hartlebury Castle for the preservation trust I was asked to sing a duet to introduce a selection of songs from the musical, Bring Him Home and Finale, which was my very first individual performance, and made all the more special by it being two of my favourite songs from the show.

Sister Act is coming soon to Birmingham, and I am looking forward to seeing this production, as we also have songs from this show in our repertoire. So Birmingham Hippodrome if you are looking for a choir to become nuns for an evening, look no further than The Kidderminster Valentines as we perform both My Guy and Hail Holy Queen regularly in concert!!

Kidderminster Valentines Choir

About carolwoolley

I’m a Mum with passion for reading, astronomy and music. I sing 2nd Alto in the Kidderminster Valentines female voice choir and play the clarinet and flute in the Bewdley Concert Band. By profession I am a Chartered Librarian, qualified trainer and currently a Deputy Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages. Follow me on twitter @woolleybear64 https://withavoiceofsinging.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in All posts, With a Voice of Singing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

